Joe Courtney

Joe Courtney First Overall

30/31 July 2016

The weekend started with damp conditions for practice on Saturday morning, but that was the last worry about weather conditions for the weekend. Joe Courtney took first overall both days

Joe Courtney

John Kennedy

John Kennedy with Cathal Mansell receiving his award for first in class 3A on Sunday. John also took first on Saturday

 Alan Noonan and team at Rally Through a Lens took many excellent photos at the weekend. View his album on facebook

 Amateur photographer David Maes also added a album of photos to his facebook page

 Club member William Barrett took the class 2 battle to hillclimb regular Gary Graham finishing less one second behind him each day. William was busy having brought three cars and more drivers to the event. Joseph Clifford was double driving in William's Honda Civic, Thomas Sheedy and Shane Walsh were driving another Honda Civic, William's Fiesta challenge race car was driven by himself and Shane Walsh(again).

William Barrett's team of cars loaded for the road home. Also in the picture is Gerard O'Connor's engine less FVee, the engine had died on the practice run on Saturday. Gerard collected championship points with one run in John Whitley's Swift Formula Ford.

Mike O'Connor competed on Saturday but missed out on Sunday to support his son who was competing in a buggy at the Killarney Autocross(Michael Jr finished second overall). Tadhg O'Connell was also a Saturday competitor with his immaculate Mark II Escort, he marshalled on Sunday. Gerry and Shane Lynch shared their Peugeot 205 on Saturday.

Dan Mulcahy enjoyed both days of the event in his Ford Escort.

Gerard Dineen took second in class 9on Sunday with his Toyota Starlet on Sunday. Denis Dineen finished just off the class 9 podium with fourth. Rob Fenlon was back in the driving seat with his reshelled Cento (rolled at Clare/Galway hillclimb weekend).

Saturday Result Sunday Result


2.0 km sprint at Effin, Kilmallock, Co Limerick
Return road so no waiting around
10 minutes from Charleville (N20/M20)
45 minutes from Mitchelstown (M8)
Entry fee 1 day €130 2 day €230
Rounds 9 and 10 of the Naylor Engineering hillclimb and sprint championship 2016

Regulations Entry Form

Full album of event launch photos from Rally Through a Lens

Joe Courtney's winning run at the 2015 event

Limerick Motor Club announces Declan Gannon's sponsorship of the event

DG Autos

Wheelfix comes on board as joint sponsor