Willie BarrettLimerick Motor Club Sprint Weekend

2/3 August at Effin, Co. Limerick

Results & Photos

Results Saturday 2 August 2014  Sunday 3 August 2014


Presentation to Effin School

Limerick Motor Club president Maria O'Callaghan making a donation to the board of management of Effin National School 9 December in recognition of the support shown for the Hillclimb and Sprint Weekend.

Photos by Caora Dubha and Silver Productions

Overall wiinner

Winner both days Simon McKinley


Simon McKinley receiving overall winner award

Naylor Engineer

Henry Nash receives his award from James O'Rourke CoC

Henry Nash receives his award from James O'Rourke CoC assisted by event secretary Elaine Higgins Shinnors.

Dan Mulcahy

Dan Mulcahy with his award


A Gannon but which one?

Paul O'Connell

Paul O'Connell

Gerard O'Connor

Gerard O'Connor


Sprint Launch
Delta Karting


poster click for larger image
2014 Championship




1 August 2013 Just a quick update..... 
Laying out of the event is in full flow at the moment. Arrows are in place along approach roads to the venue (from Charleville, Kilmallock and Kilfinnane) so all competitors are please asked to follow the yellow arrows to reach the paddock entrance. 
Have a safe journey to the event and "Keep the Race in it's Place".

Final Instruction 1

 Hi all.

Welcome to Limerick Hillclimb/Sprint weekend.
Thank you for entering our event.

Entry to the paddock is off the R515 Kilmallock to Charliville road and will be arrowed from early on Friday.
Paddock 52 21' 11.9'' N 8 36' 04.9''W

On arrival in the paddock please follow signs and marshal directions.

There will be no parking on the road until after road 8 30am when roads close to the public.

All trailers to be parked in the field provided.

There will be scrutiny on Friday evening from 7 to 9pm in paddock field.

Drivers briefing at event office in the paddock at 9 30am. All drivers must attend.

Due to a sensitive PR issue no competing car may transverse the course in either direction outside of competition times.

Prize giving on Saturday evening at 7 30pm at Barrett Bar at the entry to the paddock before the BBQ.

We look forward to the weekend and hope you have a safe and enjoyable event.

James O'Rourke Clerk of Course

End Final Instruction 1

Entries are coming in steadily and anyone intending on entering is please asked to do so as soon as possible. Entries will remain open up to the beginning of competition on both days.
Preview Video of course
Delta Karting in Limerick city provided the venue for the launch event, Monday 21 July . All who came see  the variety of cars that will be competing at the event were impressed.Some further information.

Marshal Meeting Point Beechinor Express Spar petrol station, Kilmallock, 7:30am Saturday 2 August 2014 and 7:30am Sunday 3 August 2014 For Chief Marshal contact details click here

There will be a BBQ at Barrett's Bar on Saturday evening for the prize giving. Event sponsors One Stop Party Hire from Bruff will be serving food from soon after the day's motor sport finishes. Tickets are €10.

Accommodation. The towns of Charleville and Kilmallock are both less than 8km/5miles from the paddock. There are hotels and B&Bs in both towns. The Deebert House Hotel in Kilmallock is highly recommended 

Paddock Location 52°21'11.9"N 8°36'04.9"W   or 52.353312, -8.601366 Google Street view shows the Old Creamery at this location. The yard will be available for overnight parking.

The motorsport highlight of this year's August Bank Holiday weekend will be the club's sprint at Effin. Clerk of Course James O'Rourke has found a challenging 1.96 kilometer course that will be used on Saturday and Sunday.

Both days will be counting rounds of the 2014 Naylor Engineering Hillclimb and Sprint Championship.
Hillclimbs and sprints have been part of the club since 1948, when the club's first ever event was a hillclimb at Gallows Hill in county Clare. The Corkscrew hill near Ballvaughan was a regular venue from 1950 to 1969. Club member Brian Cullen had many victories on the Corkscrew in the 1960s. The club concentrated on other things in the 1970s 1980s and 1990s. Denis Hogan Senior was instumental in bringing back hillclimbs and sprints to Lmerick in 2000. This brought a new generation of club members to the sport, culminating with Crecora man Paul O'Connell winning the national championship three times from 2007 to 2009.
An added bonus this year is the best rally car over two days will receive a 50% discount for the 2015 Circuit of Munster rally.
Gerard O'Connor at 2014 Wexford hillclimbFor further information
email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.