Click here for current Directors


Eamonn Barrett

Eamonn Barrett resigned 10 April 2024 after a period as Club Secretary

Keith McCarthy
Secretary Keith McCarthy elected director 5 April 2017, elected secretary 1 March 2022, resigned 1 March 2023

Breeda Ryan

Breeda Ryan Resigned 1 March 2023, Elected 7 March 2018, previously resigned 4 February 2015

Anthony Nestor Co-opted about March 2020 Retired 2 March 2022

Denis Dineen
Denis Dineen elected 2 March 2016 Retired 2 March 2022

Ger Healy
Ger Healy Retired 11 July 2012. Re-elected 1 May 2019. Retired 1 March 2020 

Bill Fitzgerald

 Bill Fitzgerald Retired 7 March 2018. Bill was club chairman for may years from the mid 1990s

Sean Moran Retired 7 March 2018

 Henry Nash

Henry Nash retired 5 October 2016

John O'Connor Jr retired October 2016

Edward O'Callaghan

Edward O'Callaghan Retired 2 March 2016

Mary Fitzgerald

Mary Fitzgerald Retired 2 March 2016. Mary served as Secretary for nearly 20 years from 1996

Shane O'Callaghan

Shane O'Callaghan Retired 2 March 2016. Shane had a short spell as Secretary in 1995


Ger Cusack

Ger Cusack Retired at 5 February 2014

Paul O'Connell

Paul O'Connell Retired at 5 February 2014

Gerard O'Connor

Gerard O'Connor. Retired 6 February 2013

Liam Aherne
Liam Aherne Retired 11 July 2012

Dan Mulcahy Treasuer
Dan Mulcahy Retired 6 April 2011

Dave Dooley Treasuer
Dave Dooley Retired 6 April 2011

Denis Hogan
Denis Hogan RIP Retired 4 February 2009
Gerry Keyes
Gerry Keyes Retired 4 February 2009

Some directors from the 1990s and 2000s

Photo taken at the 1998 50th anniversary dinner

Pat Dowling RIP
Anthony Nestor
Jennifer Shorten
Niall Shorten
Sean Mullally
Sebastian Stacpoole
Eoin Noonan was club chairman during this time.
Aidan Hanley

8 April 1991 The current  business entity Limerick City and County Motor Club Ltd. that trades as Limerick Motor Club was formed 8 April 1991, the first directors of that company were

Finbarr (Barry) Tobin
Harry (Hal) Lewis
Patrick (Paddy) Powell (Paddy was club secretary for a number of years)
John Walsh
Patrick Canny
Patrick (Paddy) McDonnell
James O'Mahoney

6 November 1990 The Limerick Motor Club Limited dissolved

October 1986
Chairman Hal Lewis, Secretary Bernard Kelly, Treasurer Barry Tobin
Paddy Powell, John Walsh (Chairman 1980 to c1982),Niall Mullane, Kieran Hogan, Kieran Ronan, James Doherty, James O'Mahoney, Denis Collins, Pat Gleeson, John Barry

28 February 1984 Directors after AGM
Chairman Pat Gleeson,Treasurer Pat Neville, Secretary Pat Geaney, President Stan Russell
James Doherty, ,Denis Collins, John O'Leary, Pat Canny, James Sparling, John Barry, Bernard Kelly, Paddy Kennedy, James O'Mahoney, Connie Ward, Ted Jennings

Photograph of directors from January 1983 Newsletter
Back row James O'Mahoney, Pat Canny, Joe Keane, Tom Cooney, Bill Hickey, Evan Conroy, Michael Naughton, Pat Neville, James Doherty
Front Row Stan Russell, Pat Gleeson, Hal Lewis,Brian Sparling, Denis Collins
Missing from this photograph was John O'Leary

Other directors in the 1980s Frank Keohane

Sean Cox (Chairman 1973 to 1976), John Leonard (Secretary in the mid 1970s), Connie Bourke, Shaun Wall, Donal Griffin (Chairman 1979), Hal Lewis (Chairman 1977,1978), Michael McKenna (chairman 1972) 

1978 Paddy McDonnell Secretary 

1974 members
1974 photo

Print of photo  (from Stan Russell collection) published in the Limerick Leader June 1973 after the 25th anniversary dinner dance. Captioned as "Founder members of Limerick Motor Club - Back row: H. Newenham, G. Newenham,N. Thomson, S. Russell, V. Baker, J. Garry. Front row: N Cussen, D O'Brian, Mrs C. Fitzgerald, Mayor P. Kiely, C. McNamara." Guest of honour Patrick (Paddy) Kiely was mayor of Limerick 5 July 1972 to 6 July 1973.

1966 Chairman Brian Geary, Secretary John Lane, Treasurer Brian F Cullen (son of Fred Cullen a former chairman of the club)

1963 Michael J Harkin was director and assistant treasurer

March 1959 Messrs Flynn, Leonard, Kinlay and O'Sullivan welcomed to the committee. Don Gray Hon Secretary

1956 Brian Geary replaced Paddy Fogarty as Hon. Secretary of the club

Mid 1950s committee

This newspaper cutting is undated but the committee membership suggests mid 1950s

21 January 1955 Extraordinary General Meeting to announce that club was now a limited company Officers Elected
Chairman Mr George Newenham (also chairman 1959, 1960)
Hon. Secretary Mr Paddy Fogarty (also secretary 1957)
Hon. Treasurer Mrs Claire Fitzgerald
Other Directors Messrs Val Baker, Guy Baker, Phil Heelan, P.J. Morrissey, "Bobby" Blake and Dr B Blake

15 November 1954 Incorporated as The Limerick Motor Club Limited
Chairman Frederick Cullen
Hon Secretary Michael Gerard Liston
Hon Treasurer Edward William Anthony Cussen
Richard Joseph Nash,
George Alexander Newenham
John Noel Thompson
Joseph Desmond Patrick Garry
Hector Myles Newenham
Sean Norman Fitzgerald (chairman 1963 to 1965)
Asst Hon Sec Nevitt Patrick Day Fogarty

Witness to above Signatures Michael O'B Kelly, Solicitor, 98 O'Connell Street, Limerick

5 December 1952 Officers Elected for 1953
President His Lordship the Earl of Dunraven CB CBE MC 
Vice Presidents His Worship the Mayor Limerick Alderman J Carew TD, President Chamber of Commerce Mr V Frazer-Ross, Dublin, Mr D A Scannell Secretary British Racing Drivers Association
Chairman Mr F Cullen
Hon Treasurer Mr N Thompson
Hon Secretary Mr M J O'Connor
Competition Secretary Mr J D Garry
Committee Messrs R J Nash, P J Morrissey, E Cussen, G Mills, P Fogarty, D K Waterstone, and R McKay
At this meeting it was agreed for brevity to change the name from "Limerick Light Car and Motor Cycle Club" to "The Limerick Motor Club"

1952 Vice Chairman Victor F Ross  Club President Richard Nash

Standing L-R P Heelan, S Russell, S Fitzgerald, J Eades, J Garry, R Holiday
Sitting L-R Derry O'Brien, Rickie Kemp, M O'Connor
The caption for this photo does not say committee but all except R Holiday have been confirmed as early committee members

November 1948 The annual general meeting elected officers. It was stated that the club had 56 members
President Viscount Adare
Vice Presidents DJ Scannell (London), V Frazer Ross (Dublin) and DJ O'Brien (Limerick)
Chairman Commdt J Dundon
Hon Secretary M O'Connor
Hon Treasurer JR Eades
Committee S Russell, S Fitzgerald, F Cullen, A O'Brien, JH Eades, _ Heelan, P Phillips
Delegates to the RIAC DJ O'Brien and VF Ross
Delegates to the MCUI S Russell, S Fitzgerald
Social Secretary J Garry

1948 The first general meeting of the Limerick Light Car and Motor Cycle Club was held 21 May 1948 
Committee members appointed were
Mr. R I C Kemp Chair
Mr. D J O'Brien Hon. Secretary
Mr. J D Connolly Hon. Treasurer
Comdt Dundon Hon Competitions Secretary
Mr S Fitzgerald Hon Competitions Secretary
Mr S Russell Hon Competitions Secretary
Mr A O'Brien
Mr J R Eades
Mr G Leask
Mr G Bennett
Mr D O'Grady
Article from Limerick Leader