2016 COMGC

Victory for Steve Wood and Keith Moriarty

Rathkeale House Hotel 

2016 CoM victors

2016 Circuit of Munster winners Steve Wood and co driver Limerick Motor Club member Keith Moriarty.

The event event started in overcast conditions with some drama for Ed O'Callaghan on the first stage when he nudged a bale after a major brake lock up. Ed recovered well and sorted the brakes to finish third overall behind Tyrone driver Frank Kelly.

 Full Result

Time and Distance Schedule update 3 June 2016 20:11

We have received 9 late entries since seeding was done: update 3 June 2015 20:07

Car 99 John o' Sullivan/ TBA Citroen C2 class 14
Car 100 Shane Dineen/Ciara Dineen Talbot Sunbeam class 10
Car 101 Christopher o' Callaghan/ Brian Rowen Ford Escort Mk 2 class 11R
Car 102 Sean o' Carroll/ Niall o' Sullivan Ford Escort Mk 2 class 14
Car 103 James Sunderland/ John Bracken Peugeot 205 GTi class 10
Car 104 Frank Kelly/ Paul Twomey Ford Escort Mk 2 class 14
Car 105 Robert Duggan/ Tara Duggan Ford Escort Mk 2 class 11R
Car 106 Donal McGrath/ Finbarr Fogarty Corolla Twincam class 11R
Car 107 Kevin Dolphin/ Jeff Case Renault Clio Super 1600 class 3

And we have 4 withdrawal

Car 2 Seamus Leonard/ Paul McLoughlin Subaru Impreza Class 7
Car 7 Adrian Hethrington/Gary Nolan Ford Escort MK2 Class 14
Car 14 Eamon Daly/ Frank Curtin Mitsubishi Class 20
Car 89 Brigetta Doody/ Tommy Doody Honda Civic Class 11F

Latest  updates on 2016 Circuit of Munster Facebook page. Log in is not required to view. 

Seeded entry list as published 28 May 2016


Photos from the Circuit of Munster launch event at the Rathkeale House Hotel 15 May 2016

From Rally Through a Lens

From Richard O'Donoghue

Large selection of photos from Alan Noonan and his team at Rallythrough a Lens

Photo from club promotion at the Family Fun day at Limerick Race Course 8 May 2016

Promotional flyer

Launch preview

Press Release No: 1

2016 Rathkeale House Hotel Circuit of Munster Stages Rally

With the June Bank Holiday weekend fast approaching, preparations are already well advanced for this year’s running of the Rathkeale House Hotel’s Circuit of Munster Stages Rally hosted exclusively in the the West Limerick town of Rathkeale.

The rally is round 3 of Top Part West Coast Rally championship, which is one of the best regional rally championships in the country and Limerick Motor club are happy once again to be associated and act as a counting round. This year’s championship has large numbers registered making all of the classes very competitive.

The Circuit of Munster is Limerick Motor club’s main event and it one of the oldest rallies of it’s kind in the country with a long and distinguished history among the motorsport calendar in Ireland.

Clerk of the Course; Kieran Ambrose has laid on 3 challenging but extremely enjoyable stages to test both driver and machine over 120km’s of the beautiful, rugged landscaped glens of West Limerick on Sunday the 5th of June. In addition to this, road kilometres is low and there is centralised service in the town of Rathkeale. In fact, everything will be based there, HQ, scrutiny, Parc Ferme and service making it very accessible as Rathkeale is located on the main Limerick/Castleisland Road (N21) and only 20 minutes from the motorway, M20.

“We have listened to competitors and wanted to make the whole experience of coming to the 2016 Circuit of Munster stages rally all about them. Thus, we have planned to do the stages in 3x3 format with centralised servicing in Rathkeale. “ explained Kieran. “We were made very welcome by Damien of The Rathkeale House Hotel, who has provided a base for the rally, organisers and most importantly, for competitors and their crews for the weekend.”

The Rathkeale House Hotel is planning a party atmosphere all over the weekend with live music, good food and a lively prizegiving on Sunday night. The hotel has accommodation available at special rates, just mention the rally on; 069-63333. 
The launch for this year’s rally is on Sunday May 15th at rally HQ, Rathkeale House hotel from 3 to 6pm. There will be live music and a BBQ laid on. Limerick Motor Club are delighted to announce, along with a full display of rally cars, Rosemary Smith will be our guest speaker.

Rosemary Smith, who blazed a trail for women in motorsport throughout the 1960s and ‘70s, driving for prestigious global teams in the likes of the Monte Carlo Rally, the London to Mexico Rally, the London to Sydney Rally and other World Rally Championship events in the US, Africa, Europe and New Zealand.

Also, in attendance will be the Mayor of Limerick, Liam Galvin, who have given his support to the event, over the June Bank Holiday Weekend, along with lots of local competitors both drivers and co-drivers, on the day.

The launch will get national TV coverage from Irish TV, along with a wide variety of other press, both local and national.

Entries are now open and already trickling in at steady pace which bodes well for the event & are available at;

You can like us on our Facebook page, where we will give you all the news first where our countdown continues. See you all in West Limerick on the June Bank Holiday!

Ger Cusack 

Keith McCarthy

PRO 2016 Circuit of Munster Stages Rally

Entry Form


Online entry