The President is primarily an honorary position within the club and acts as the club’s representative at internal and external functions.

The current presidential chain of office was made in 1981 by Lee Brothers (still in business at Santry Business Park) and ordered through JJ Kenneally Jewellers, 45 Wickham St, Limerick. The chain was sponsored by Hal Lewis, Pat Gleeson, Pat Canny, John Walsh, Michael Naughton, Frank Keohan(e), Evan Conroy and James O'Mahoney 

Initial listing derived from name plates on the chain, dates from 1954 to 1982 come from a research document in Stan Russell's archive. Further research needed for  years 1961, 1967, 1968, 1969, 1970, 1985, 1986, 1989, 1990, 1991.

Viscount Adare Richard Southwell Windham Robert Wyndham-Quin was elected First President (Viscount Adare was a subsidiary title of the Earl of Dunraven and was used by the heir apparent). Windham Henry Wyndham-Quin, 5th Earl of Dunraven and Mount-Earl CB DSO died 23 October 1952, a newspaper article shows "the Earl of Dunraven CB CBE MC" as 1953 president, research shows titles and medal are correct for Richard Southwell Windham Robert Wyndham-Quin6th Earl of Dunraven and Mount-Earl. 

Richard Kemp Founder

Dermod O'Brien 1954, 1955, 1956, 1957

Richard Nash 1958, 1959, 1960

Val Baker 1963, 1964

Sean Fitzgerald 1962, 1966, 1967

George Newenham (possibly 1961 after a period as chairman)

Stan Russell 1965, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1983, 1984, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995

Sean Cox 1978, 1979, 1980, 1981

Hal Lewis 1982, 1987 1988, 1996,1997, 1998

Hal Lewis club president 1980s

Hal Lewis probably 1982 note only six name plates on chain

Sean Mullally about 2001

Paddy McDonnell 2003

Niall Mullane 2004

Niall Mullane at Circuit of Munster Launch

Denis Hogan

Michael Mulcahy 2007-2009

Mike Mulcahy at the 2008 Circuit of Munster launch

Shane O'Callaghan 2009-2011

Shane O'Callaghan at 2010 Circuit of Munster Launch

Dan Mulcahy 2011-2013

Dan Mulcahy presenting the President's cup to Mike Mulcahy with Mary Fitzgerald

Maria O'Callaghan 2014 - 2015

Maria O'Callaghan being congratulated by Breeda Ryan after receiving the Presidents chain 5 February 2014

Mary Fitzgerald 2016-2018

James Doherty 2018 to 2023

2018 Club President

Club chairman Aidan Walsh with 2018 club president James Doherty

The directors selected Barry Tobin as Club President at the Annual General Meeting held Wednesday 1 March 2023 . 

Barry Tobin

Barry pictured at the Tour 75:75 Launch. Tour 75:75 celebrated 75 years of the club's history 

Front Face

Back face of chain