Limerick City & County Motor Club & Crest


Click to go to Championship Sponsor Magnus Technology Ltd.

Limerick M.C.organised a round of the Magnus Technology Ltd. Hillclimb and Sprint championship 2/3 August 2008

Click to go to Sponsor Woodlands House Hotel

update 10:55 7 August 2008
Photos by Ger Cusack

Paul vs Simon Day 2

Update 17:00 4 August 2008
Sunday's event at Boola hill near Broadford happened in very variable weather conditions
Paul O'Connell from Crecora and Simon McKinley continued their battle for overall honours, Simon held the lead for the first 3 runs, Paul took a half second lead in run 4. Both drivers improved their times in the dry run 5, but Simon took the win by 1.01s
In the Magnus Technology National Championship classes Gerard O'Connor improved on his Saturday result to take the class 5A win
Denis Hogan Jnr was second in class 3B, Turlough Kenny was 3rd in class 1
In the rally car classes
Class 10 Henry Nash 2nd, Class 9 Ger Clancy 1st, PJ O'Connor 2nd, Ger Buckley 3rd
Class 8 Simon Evans 1st, Allyn Jennings 2nd, Henry Jennings 3rd
Hazel O'Callaghan received the Ladies award
Full results available at Motorsport Ireland go to hillclimb on the championships' page

Shortened hill provides good competition
Update 23:43 2 August 2008
The recent torrential rain caused the Old Mill hill to be shortened. But none the less great competition was had for the overall award and in the classes

The battle for the overall award was between club member Paul O'Connell (Delta Warrior T79) and Simon McKinley who normally drives an Escort MKII but this week has the Lant RT2 single seater in action. Simon took the lead from run 1 but as much as Paul tried Simon stayed that bit ahead
In the classes club member Gerard O'Connor had a close battle with Siobhan McCann both in Formula Vee single seaters. Siobhan took the early lead in runs 1 and 2, then Gerard lead runs 3 and 4. Siobhan took the win on run 5 with a brilliant drive to beat Gerard by 0.4 seconds
Denis Hogan Jnr took second in class 3B. Simon Evans was winner in class 8, Niall Shorten won class 9 with Shane McAuliffe 2nd and Maurice Meskell 3rd.
The road improved from damp to dry as the day warmed with threats of rain leading to a busy run 5

New Sidebar photos
The new hillclimb sidebar pictures are from Sadhbh Ryan-Daly, Go Photo 087 7538882, Sadhbh can be found with daily photos at the Vantage Point Videos stand at most hillclimbs
Samples of her Clare Hillclimb photos can be viewed here
Members pictured are from top to bottom are Paul O'Connell, John Kingston, Michael Melia and Gerard O'Connor

Congratulations to club member Paul O'Connell for winning the 2007 National Hillclimb Championship
YouTube action from Paul

Also Gerard O'Connor 2007 Class 5A winner


©2008 Limerick MC